Colin Farrell, Michelle Yeoh and Janelle Monáe on Their Wins at the National Board of Review Annual Awards Gala in NYC

The evening celebrated the best in cinema for 2022

From the LifeMinute.TV Team

January 9, 2023

The stars were out at the National Board of Review Annual Awards Gala at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City last night. Willie Geist hosted the celebration that pays tribute to cinema.  

Colin Farrell was elated to be honored as Best Actor for The Banshees of Inisherin, calling the win “lovely.”

Michelle Yeoh chose apropos words to convey her feelings on winning Best Actress, describing it to us as, “everything…it’s like being everything, everywhere, all at once.”

It was a night of big wins for The Fablemans. Steven Spielberg took home Best Director and Breakthrough Performance went to Gabriel LaBelle, who was presented the award by co-star Paul Dano.

“I got to play Steven’s dad, it’s the coolest thing ever,” divulged Dano, “He gave me all of his family’s archives, all his love, all his time, and he was wonderful to me.”

Best Supporting Actress winner, Janelle Monáe worked the red carpet in Valentino. She shared with us how she prepared for her winning role in Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery.

“I had a wonderful director/writer, Rian Johnson. We had so much fun…he encouraged me to just play,” said the star, “I play a character with secrets so with that comes a big responsibility.”

Finally, Top Gun: Maverick took home the top award for Best Film. See the full list of the 2022 award recipients below:

Best Film: Top Gun: Maverick

Best Director: Steven Spielberg, The Fabelmans

Best Actor: Colin Farrell, The Banshees of Inisherin

Best Actress: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actor: Brendan Gleeson, The Banshees of Inisherin

Best Supporting Actress: Janelle Monáe, Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Best Original Screenplay: Martin McDonagh, The Banshees of Inisherin

Best Adapted Screenplay: Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson, Ian Stokell, All Quiet on the Western Front

Breakthrough Performance: Danielle Deadwyler, Till

Breakthrough Performance: Gabriel LaBelle, The Fabelmans

Best Directorial Debut: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun

Best Animated Feature: Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

Best International Film: Close

Best Documentary: “Sr.”

Best Ensemble: Women Talking

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Top Gun: Maverick

NBR Freedom of Expression Awards:

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Argentina, 1985

Top Films (in alphabetical order):


Avatar: The Way of Water

The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery



The Woman King

Women Talking

Top 5 International Films (in alphabetical order):

All Quiet on the Western Front

Argentina, 1985

Decision to Leave


Saint Omer

Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order):

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

All That Breathes


Turn Every Page – The Adventures of Robert Caro and Robert Gottlieb


Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order):

Armageddon Time

Emily the Criminal

The Eternal Daughter

Funny Pages

The Inspection


A Love Song


The Wonder

To Leslie

320 480 600 768 800 1024 1500 1920 Facebook Twitter Feed Instagram Email